Presidents of the GAA: Seán Ryan

Seán Ryan, Dublin, was the tenth president of the GAA (1928-1932).

Born in Co. Tipperary, Ryan played both hurling and football for UCD, acting as UCD’s representative in the Dublin county board in the 1920s. He was the youngest person to have been elected president of the GAA.

The only practicing lawyer to serve as president, Ryan served as legal adviser to the GAA for almost 30 years after his presidency[1]. During this time, he was involved in the acquisitions of several grounds for the GAA.

Creative Commons License
This work by adminGAA is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported