Presidents of the GAA: Joseph Stuart

Dr. Joseph (J.J.) Stuart, Dublin, was the nineteenth president of the GAA (1958-1961).

Born in Co. Clare, Dr. Stuart played hurling for the UCD team, winning two Fitzgibbon Cup medals.[1] After his time as a player, he had a life-long role in the administration of UCD GAA.[2]

He served as a referee for 13 years, and refereed the 1943 Senior Hurling All-Ireland.

The only non-Leinster man to chair the Leinster County Board,[1] he was Leinster Council Chairman from 1954 to 1956.[2]

Dr. Stuart donated the Dr John Ryan Memorial Cup for a Combined Universities v Rest of Ireland football match in 1950. The Ryan Cup can be viewed at Lár na Páirce.

Creative Commons License
This work by adminGAA is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported